Trustees and Patrons

Become a Trustee
We are particularly keen to hear from you if you have experience in finance, fundraising, marketing, personnel or legal practice, and would like to volunteer either as a Trustee or as a specialist in these areas. Please contact This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Paul Rose

We are very pleased to have as our Patrons a number of key people well known in the national media, cross party politicians and respected Cumbria figureheads, all with a love of and interest in the future of the Lake District and Cumbria's countryside:

Mr David Astor CBE

Hal Bagot (Professional surveyor and major landowner)

Dave Birkett (internationally renowned climber, waller, Lake District farming)

Bill Bryson OBE FRS

Lord Chorley (House of Lords)

Lord Clark (House of Lords and Chair Lake District National Park Partnership)

Lord Alf Dubs (House of Lords)

John Dunning CBE (Cumbria Businessman and Landowner – Westmorland Ltd)

Lord Egremont

Ellie Harrison (TV Presenter – Countryfile)

Sir Martin Holdgate (Ex-Department for the Environment Chief Scientist, Cumbria Wildlife Trust)

Lord Inglewood (House of Lords – Former President of FLD)

Dame Jennifer Jenkins

Dr Brian Jones (Longstanding ex-Trustee/Past Chairman of FLD)

Lord Judd (House of Lords - former President of FLD)

Lord Roger Liddle (House of Lords)

Lord Melchett (House of Lords)

Rt Rev. James Newcome, Bishop of Carlisle

The Hon Jonathan Porritt (Environmental Writer and Chair of the Sustainable Development Commission)

Dame Fiona Reynolds – (Former Director General of the National Trust, and Master Elect Emmanuel College, Cambridge)

Rory Stewart MP Penrith and the Borders, OBE FRSL (House of Commons)

Mark Townsend (National media)

John Woodcock, Barrow MP (House of Commons)

Lord (Tony) Greaves (House of Lords)

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees is responsible for the overall governance of the charity. The trustees of the charity are also the directors of the company. All the trustees are directly elected by the members at the Annual General Meeting.

Marion Temple

Vice Chairs
Robin Barratt
Frank Lee

Elected Trustees
Tony Breakell
Martin Brimmer
Barbara Clifford
John Farmer
Peter Lansberry
Malcolm Petyt
Robin Yates


< back
Qualified essay writers provides college students with academic papers . new pizza hut coupon codes . Online writers amy tan essay online essay writer.